So the breakfast team on Highveld Radio call a person every morning to wish them happy birthday.  I am not sure how this person is chosen, but today they called a lady who turned 59.  They tell you what the no. 1 song was on the day that you were born and you get to either choose to listen to that song or you can choose any song you wish (in addition to receiving a fabulous prize and being able to send a “shout out” live on the radio).  The song that was no. 1 when the birthday girl today was born was How Much Is That Doggy In The Window by Dorris Day.  The lady gave a genuine little chuckle as she remembered how her mother used to sing that to her when she was a baby…the same song that I sing to Ethan, funny enough, a whole 59 years later. 

Music is my passion – I’ve played the piano my whole life and also have a guitar and a violin…classical is my favourite, but really, I just love music in general!  I can listen to some songs over and over again trying to pick out the instruments in the background, I sometimes get goosebumps at how wonderful the music is composed, music is just inside me!!  I love to sing as well especially to Ethan.  We lay together on our bed every afternoon and play and I sing songs like Miss Polly Had A Dolly, Miss Johnson Had A Baby, Hickory Dickory Dock and a whole host of other baby songs.  Sometimes I can’t remember the words and sometimes I even realise half way through that I am singing the wrong tune.  But Ethan seems to love it, and even when we’re in church, he watches his mummy sing and smiles like it’s the most wonderful thing that’s ever happened to him.  Okay, who knows, maybe he’s actually looking at me smiling but laughing in his head thinking – what in the world are you doing, do you really know how awful you sound? – but I’d like to think that he enjoys it!

This morning got me thinking about what the no. 1 song in the USA was when I was born, so I googled it and surprisingly, it was by the good old King Of Pop himself, Michael Jackson…Billie Jean 🙂  Then I started thinking about what songs I’d tell Ethan were my favourites when I was a teenager or at varsity or when he was first born and that got me a little worried…when my gran and grandfather sang songs that they loved, it was songs like If You Were The Only Girl In The World, More And More I Know A Love Like Yours…songs that had meaning, songs whose words could sweep a lady off her feet if sung to her under the moonlight on a clear summer’s night with millions of stars up above.  Fast forward a number of decades to the songs that I like…Puff Daddy (P Diddy/Diddy/Puffy…whatever he goes by now), The Biggie Duets, Snoop Dogg…can you imagine when we have our 80th birthday parties and play songs that reminisce on when we were in high school, varsity etc…there Angelo and I will be dancing, probably with walking sticks and false teeth to My Leg Is Sore (our version of My Lady Soul!)…poor Ethan!!!!!  He’ll have to be holding my hand and saying, mum, calm down, you’re not young anymore and there I’d be with a spirit just like Margie (my wonderful grandmother) doing a little shuffle with a huge smile on my face 🙂

Perhaps I should start listening to some of the good “oldies” so that at least I don’t embarass my kid(s) when they’re grown up…hahahahah…but then, that’s what parents are good at, aren’t they! 

“I was born with music inside me. Music was one of my parts. Like my ribs, my kidneys, my liver, my heart. Like my blood. It was a force already within me when I arrived on the scene. It was a necessity for me-like food or water”.
Ray Charles

One response »

  1. Lauren Tate says:

    Music is life

Leave a Reply

