One of my favourite lines comes from Alicia Keys’ song Superwoman.  Somewhere in the chorus, she sings…

“Even when I’m a mess
I still put on a vest
With an S on my chest
Oh yes
I’m a Superwoman”

As I’ve mentioned before, we’re blessed to have a very good baby.  For those that know me, you can vouch that I was always the lady who didn’t want kids ‘cos I was afraid I’d be throwing them against the walls unable to handle the temper tantrums and constant crying.  Of course, one day, the “broody bug” bit and all I could think about was having a baby.  I’d constantly discuss it with anybody and everybody whenever I could – how many kids I wanted, when we were going to start trying etc etc.  Finally, my husband relented and we now have a four day short of four months old baby boy, Ethan. 

Before I went back to work, Ethan was sleeping like the proverbial baby.  He was mostly sleeping from 10-ish to 6-ish with the odd night waking up for a comfort 10minute feed.  On my first two days back at work, I even had to wake him so that I could breastfeed him before leaving.  Then out of nowhere, he just started sleeping odd hours.  He started waking up two and sometimes even three times a night.  This has now been happening for about a week including this weekend and the last 😦  To say I’ve been quite tired is a bit of an understatement.  Trying to concentrate for a full 9hour day at work after a terrible night’s sleep is bad enough on the odd night off, but five full days in a row…oh my word!!  Somehow, I survived my first full week back at work though, and I’ve just resigned myself to the fact that this is probably how he’s going to sleep going forward…fingers crossed that I’m wrong and it changes!!

Now the hubby fully sympathises with me but I don’t think he can really EMPATHISE!  Since Ethan was born, I haven’t asked him to wake up at all even though he has offered.  I’ve been breastfeeding and really, what’s the point of him waking up when he can’t really do anything.  On top of that, he sleeps like a log, so I also thought there’s no point in waking him up when I’m already up anyway.  Last night was a different story!!  Ethan went to bed at about 9:30pm.  As you can imagine, I jumped into bed pretty soon afterwards as I was absolutely exhausted. When he woke up at 2:45am, I just did my “usual”…popped a dummy into his mouth and he fell asleep pretty soon after that.  Then he woke up at 4:15am again.  I tried the dummy again (which is what I’ve been doing in the week) but he refused to take it and I could just see the start of a little baby tantrum, so I decided to breastfeed him…after all, who wants to be awake at that time on a Sunday morning, so I figured this would be the best option. 

…Fourty five minutes later, Ethan had fed finished and I had put him back in his cot sleeping three times and all three times, he had woken up the minute his head hit the pillow!!  So I woke the hubster up to give me a hand.  I have literally only woken him up twice since Ethan’s been born!  He promply got out of bed to help and insisted I go back to sleep (which of course is impossible when you’ve been up with a baby for fourty fiveminutes!!).  Ethan went from a “half asleep state into a wide awake, pushing up in the cot, laughing, having great fun with his dad” baby at 5am!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  By this time of course, there was no way I could sleep so I decided to take over and Angelo went back to bed.  Needless to say, half a cup of coffee and half an hour later, Ethan was KO, so I opened up the sleeper couch, got the blanket out of the cupboard, and my baba and I had a good Sunday morning nap.

He woke up just after 7am and so I fed him and started our usual Sunday morning routine…getting him ready for church.  After his bath, we woke daddy so that mummy could jump in the shower…daddy could not keep his eyes open.  Literally, he looked like he hadn’t slept in 4months!!!!  It took a good 15minutes for him to come around and even then, he couldn’t stop commenting on how tired he is and how he can’t get up etc. which got me thinking…really, God has made us woman perfect, down to the T…able to handle ANYTHING.  Okay, granted, my body is now used to the getting up but who would have thought that a person can get hardly any sleep, concentrate at work (did I mention it’s year end at work too!!!! I returned at the wrong time!!!!!), come home and cook, blow dry hair, breastfeed and the list goes on.  We are designed to be able to cope with this.  We go through 40weeks of being pregnant, we go through the pain (whether it’s natural or caesar, it’s still painful either way!!) and we fall into the role of motherhood like a piece of old tackie (well, after the initial struggles and lots of help of course) but really, mum’s are super women and tomorrow, I’ll follow Alicia Keys’ words, even after a bad weekend of sleeping…I’ll put on a vest with an S on chest ‘cos yes I’m SUPER WOMAN 🙂

One response »

  1. Zelda Tate says:

    From one Superwoman to another …….. YOU GO GAL!
    Love you lots

Leave a Reply

