So reality has hit and it’s back to the grindstone for most of us!  We normally spend Easter with our in-laws in Port Elizabeth, but this year, my sister-in-law and her boyfriend caught a lift up with some friends, and we were lucky enough to have them in Jo’burg with us.  My sister was also around this year, so in between spending “family time” all together and of course fitting into “the boss” Ethan’s routine, my sister and the “baainaars” at least went out a bit and did some “non-parent” things 🙂 

Yesterday evening, after spending the afternoon at the Rand Easter Show, my sister was on the move again (Lauren, you need a whole blog all to yourself to describe your shenanigans ;-)) for sundowners with friends.  I suggested to my sister-in-law that she join her as the men were watching soccer and I was busy with Ethan.  As they were getting done, I thought that it would be really nice to join them especially seeing as my sister is off for three months to the states in a few days – I thought this could be our last girls’ drinks!  So I tentatively BBM’d Angelo (yes, we BBM even when we’re in the same house…hahahahha, in fairness, the door was shut as I was breastfeeding Ethan and they were busy watching soccer in the lounge so I didn’t want to scream like a banshee!) and nicely asked if it was okay if I popped out for a quick drink with the girls to which he replied OF COURSE, NO PROBLEM.  Now, as I’ve probably mentioned in a previous blog, Angelo is a more than capable father who jumps at the chance to spend some time with Ethan and give me a much needed break, however, (and I’m sure all mothers can relate to this) I am the type of mother who seems to have SERIOUS minor issues leaving Ethan alone with anybody, even his father!  And this was spur of the moment too – I didn’t even give Angelo the long list of “do’s” and “don’ts” or prepare an extra bottle in case or put out clean clothes for the night or put out his favourite toys!!!!!  I just finished breastfeeding and up’d and left.  To say that guilt got to me before we even got in the car is an understatement but my sister and sister-in-law assured me that Angelo is quite capable of looking after his own child so I bit my tongue and tried to enjoy the evening. 

We had sundowners at the Southern Sun Hotel in Hyde Park – what a stunning view…okay, I would have preferred to be overlooking the ocean in Cape Town/Durban/PE but looking out from the deck with the setting sun and the Jo’burg lights in the distance was absolutely amazing!  We were only there for just over an hour but just sitting in adult company, sipping on some drinks and eating sushi felt like much needed food for MY soul! 

I couldn’t wait to get home to Ethan though and as we were driving home, I was hoping that he was still okay and that he was still awake so that I could at least put him to sleep.  Needless to say, we got home and Ethan was happily sitting in daddy’s arms, smiling away – he’d had a bottle and cereal and was watching soccer with the guys!!  I ran and enveloped him in hugs and kisses…I know, it was only two hours away from him, but it felt like two weeks.  We did our usual night time routine of nappy change, kissing daddy goodnight and breastfeeding before he fell asleep in my arms and that’s when it hit me…my AAAHHHH moment…I really need to let daddy and Ethan also have some bonding time and I need to stop being so over protective.  Ethan will always be my baby but life goes on and I can’t explain how just that two hours out of the house made me feel almost human again!! 

Thanks daddy for giving mummy some “ME” time 🙂 

One response »

  1. Zelda Tate says:

    Glad you njoyed your ‘time out.’ Yes! You need to do it more often for your own sanity … and possibly for Angelo’s sanity as well! So pencil the next ‘time-out’ in your diary; and start planning gal!

Leave a Reply

