Anybody that knows me will be able to vouch for me when I say that I’m not easily embarrassed.  You know when people say – what’s the most embarrassing moment you’ve ever had…well, generally, I say nothing really or nothing that I can remember. 

Fast forward to today, I have OFFICIALLY been embarrassed today!  So I dashed out of work at 11:30 to get to Sandton City Mall before the lunch time rush.  There was a specific plan in mind…get a couple of goodies for two of my friends’ kids and exchange a shirt at Woolies.  So I rushed into my “usual” parking area outside Woolworths – baby section first, walked around for a few minutes and then I decided to look for some things for me.  Armed with quite a number of things, I headed to customer services to exchange my shirt and pay for the rest of my items.  After standing in the queue for 5minutes and transferring funds on my phone via Internet banking to pay for my “splurge”, I was finally next in line.  The cashier scanned all my items and while she was doing the “exchange”, lo and behold, clever Jodie reaches into her bag for her purse and VOILA – NO PURSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  You know that feeling when your heart drops to your toes…well, that was not even an inkling of what I felt like at that moment.  Not only did the cashier have to get a manager to void all my purchases but then it REALLY dawned on me…I didn’t even have a single cent to pay for my parking ticket.  There I was completely at a loss for words.  How in the world was I going to get out of Sandton!  Where would I even start…I couldn’t even make a board and stand at the robot – no money for parking, left purse at home – ‘cos I didn’t even have a pen and paper in my bag.  And worst of all, I could even picture my purse in Ethan’s baby bag!!!!!!!  OHHHHHHHH MMMMMMMYYYYYYYYY WWWWWOOOOOOORRRRDDDDDDDDDDD…fortunately, there are still some good people in this world.  The cashier immediately (it actually felt like I was in a movie and my dilemna was playing out in “slow mo”) told me that she would go find a manager and ask the manager for a parking ticket. 

It took a good fifteen minutes, but she came back with one and I thanked her about a hundred times before walking out to the car park ready to dash back to work only to get to the ticket machine and have it read PLEASE PAY R56!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  So I had to walk back into Woolies, stand in the queue again, wait for the manager to come all the way from wherever the manager sits and escourt me to the ticket machine with another card.  Fortunately, the top that I returned covered the baby things that I bought for my friends’ kids so that was sorted and I got what I actually went there for but how embarrassing…no clothes, no shoes, no lunch and no muffins that I promised my eagerly awaiting colleagues.  All in all……..EPIC FAIL!!

2 responses »

  1. Robyn says:

    WAAAAKAKAK!! ASkies! That is kinda embarrassing, but I would have been more irritated at the time wasted! LOATHE wasting time – especially in a shopping centre!

Leave a Reply

