Angelo and I have been dating since first week of first year varsity.  In this time, most of the friends that we have had have been mutual friends.  Of course, there are the people that are more his friends than mine and vice versa but we’ve met most of our friends at the same time and kept most of the friendships going as they’ve found partners and gotten married. 

I have, however, also had a few of my own friends (friends that Angelo gets along with and can have a conversation with and can even go out with but who I’d rather spend time with on my own) who, when I needed “me” time over the years, have been the friends that I would turn to for a glass of wine or two or three and a dinner to let loose and relax with.  Over the years, most of these friends have fallen by the wayside but one friend has remained friends with me since first year varsity and last night, after two years of him living in Australia, we got together for a drink!  What fun it was to catch up after all this time!!  You know, one of those people who when you get together with them, it feels like you saw them just the other day, even though it’s been years.  I left work and rushed home to get Ethan done and drop our nanny before heading back to Sandton more than a little flustered (I pride myself at being on time even with a little baby!!) to meet up with Dave.  Of course, when we last saw each other, Ethan was not even an idea and I was a bit anxious about how we’d be able to chat and catch up freely with Ethan wide awake and demanding needing my attention but fortunately, Ethan (as usual) was as good as gold and we sat and chatted for a good hour about family, work and life in general.  Dave had to dash off to another dinner afterwards (the joys of trying to squeeze everybody into his schedule in just five days in Jo’burg) and Ethan and I headed off home to our usual routine, but what an awesome evening it was!  Thanks Dave for making time to see me and reminding me of how important friendship is in a person’s life…

“True friendship is like sound health; the value of it is seldom known until it be lost.”
– Charles Caleb Colton

“A friend is someone who is there for you when he’d rather be anywhere else.”
– Len Wein – Sent by Paulo Louro

“Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather is one of those things that give value to survival.”
– C. S. Lewis

“A Friend is someone who knows all about you and loves you anyway!!!”

One response »

  1. Zelda Tate says:

    Remember that with friendship (as with most things) …. what you put into it – is what you get out of it!

Leave a Reply

