This morning, as I drove into work in yet again very cold weather, I was struck by how fortunate I am.  To wake up and be given another day by God, to have my family lying next to me, to have warm water to shower in, a kettle to make tea with, clothes to wear to work, a job to go to, a car to drive in, an office to work from, food to eat for breakfast – so many blessings that we take for granted.  I walked to my desk through our practically empty office (I arrive at work at 7am, the working day at my office starts at 8:30 for most, 9am for quite a few so the office is eerily silent at that time in th emorning), logged onto my computer and sat looking out into the quiet morning with my second cup of tea for the day.  How great is our God! 

Today is the one year anniversary of my sister’s friends death.  A boy taken away too soon – a teenager who gave up his life by committing suicide.  I cannot even begin to imagine what could be so bad that a person decides to take their own life.  I have so much to be grateful for every day especially for my family.  That poor boy’s family, struggling a year on with no idea as to why he did what he did – how does a mother and father go on, how does one not wake up every day thinking about why, how come, if only. 

We only have one life on earth!  Today I am deciding to be more grateful for the little things that I have, to appreciate the small things in life – I am choosing to be happy because life is too short to have it any other way.  Have a great day all xxx

One response »

  1. Olivia Billings says:

    Wow…. Very inspiring. 🙂

Leave a Reply

