There are certain things that I’m pretty sure that ALL most people do that make them feel embarrassed about that I can’t understand the reasoning behind…okay, other than the obvious things like;-

–           they may emit a certain bad smell,

Image

–          they may produce a certain unidentified object, or

–          they may make it look like you’re trying to pull a carrot out of you know where…

but one of the things that seem to embarrass people (which until recently I thought ALL people did) is singing in ones car!  WHY????????  Most of us have at some point in our lives sang along to a favourite song whether it be in the shower, at a concert, at church, in the car…I surely cannot be the ONLY ONE who sings in the car…and doesn’t get embarrassed by it?  I mean, I don’t get it – if you’re sitting alone in your car NOBODY CAN HEAR YOU, what is there to be embarrassed about?  I’m one of those people who find an old CD (this morning it was Mariah Carey’s “Thank God I Found You”) and play it on repeat for the entire drive to work at maximum volume and not only sing along to it, but use my steering wheel as a drum AND bob my head to the beat…why not! 

A few years ago, my previous car was broken into and the perpetrators stole my radio.  At the time, I refused to pay the excess and decided not having a radio would not kill me.  I thoroughly enjoyed the months that followed where I drove into work, no, not in silence but singing out LOUD every morning and every afternoon to whatever song was playing in my head at the time.  I enjoyed it so much, that I decided that there was absolutely no need for me to EVER have a radio and that I’d get by just fine without one. 

Fast forward a few months later, I sold my own car and took on the hubinator’s car…it has a 6 CD shuttle, I felt spoilt for choice!!  Now I can’t imagine life without my radio.  Music really cheers me up.  Doesn’t matter what’s happened in the morning, I belt out the CDs and sing at the top of my voice…Alicia Keys generally does it for me especially her song Superwoman – I feel like a new person every time it plays, talk about woman power!!

This morning, while singing out loud to Mariah Carey, a car filled with guys passed by and the guy in the backseat looked at me with a huge smile on his face obviously amused with me having a mini concert in my own little car.  My theory is – WHO CARES, it makes me happy, it cheers me up and as I’ve said before, music is really in my soul.  I will continue singing out loud and conducting my own mini concerts ‘cos hey, I’m not affecting anybody else and really, I don’t think I have anything to be embarrassed about 🙂

One response »

  1. Zelda says:

    You get that from your dad! I suppose it’s better belting it out to Mariah Carey and Alicia Keyes than singing “Alleluia” at the top of your voice as your dad does! LOL

Leave a Reply

