So the hubster has decided that he’d prefer to have peanut butter and jam sandwiches to work every day instead of having leftover food.  Now at first, I thought, that it’s strange (and of course, I thought it was him being quite difficult seeing as it means me spending time in the morning making samis) because who’d want sandwiches to work when they can have a full meal, but then I realized how this works to my advantage – not only do I now get to have the leftover dinner portion for myself as there’s now extras but I also don’t have to stress about making extra food the night before if there’s not enough left over from the meal that I make for dinner.. 

So we’re into week two, and so far, it’s going quite well.  In fact, making the samis in the morning seems to be quite therapeutic for me.  I’ve even gotten into some sort of routine…I get up and warm Ethan’s bottle which Angelo feeds him, then I put on the kettle to make myself a cuppa and I take out the bread, peanut butter, jam, butter and two knives and go about making Angelo his three samis.  First the butter then the jam on the bottom slices of bread (I even lay them out on the bread board strategically – three at the top and three at the bottom every morning! so that when they’re finished, I can put the slices together, cut them diagonally and then pack them all into his lunchbox) and the peanut butter with a new clean knife on the top three slices. 

The last few mornings that I’ve gone about this task, I must admit, I’ve been incredibly moody.  This is due to the fact that Ethan’s sleeping has been absolutely disastrous.  Let me use last night as an illustration that I’m not going mad but that my child seems to be dead set against sleeping…so I put him down at 8pm, by “put him down”, I mean that he has his bedtime bottle and I rock him to sleep (yes ROCK HIM) and sing to him until he doses off which usually takes about 5/10minutes.  His usual bedtime is 7pm, but last night, he fought his sleep so hard that I left him screaming moaning in his cot for about 10minutes until my sister gave in, picked him up and pacified him until I had finished packing her “take-away” container.  So I finally got him down at 8.  I crawled into bed with a cup of tea and my Kindle ready to read for a short while before hitting the sack!…Ethan woke up at 8:45 and then again at 9:20 and 9:50.  Angelo did the 9:50 “dummy run” as he’d just walked in from soccer and from then until Angelo got into bed, I’m not sure what Ethan did as that’s “my time”…the only time I get to sleep solidly (no, it’s not you reading wrong…that’s TWO FREAKING HOURS!!!!!!!!!!!!!).  Ethan then woke up at 12:15 for his bottle and then again at 2:30, 3:30, 3:40, 3:50, 4:22 and 5:05 – so just doing the math quick, I probably managed to get in about four hours sleep which I guess isn’t TOO bad but probably explains my moodiness the last couple of days as it’s been like this for probably a week or so at least.  His gums are super swollen so again, I sure as hell hope think that this may be linked to teething – I’m at the stage where I’m even starting to pray before bed that he has ONE GOOD NIGHT but God and his awesome sense of humour doesn’t seem to be on my side…have I done something wrong, SERIOUSLY, do I REALLY deserve this???!!!!!!!!!! 

Okay, enough of that, getting back to the point…the pb and j sami routine seems to get me into a more relaxed mood.  It’s my alone time at 5:30am and it gives me time to say a little prayer, think about my day ahead and plan Ethan’s day i.t.o. food, snacks etc. for Jeanette to give him so this is one time I can say…thanks to the hubby for being so difficult! 🙂

One response »

  1. Zelda says:

    just one comment Jo – there’s no reason you have to have the leftovers. What happened to healthy eating habits?!!!! LOL

Leave a Reply

