Yesterday, I decided to blow dry my hair, something I consider a luxury “post-Ethan” as I can only do it while he’s awake (I’m pretty sure the sound of the blow dryer will wake him!) which means that somebody has to keep an eye on him…so yesterday was the perfect opportunity with hubby at home and I had pretty much the entire day to do it (okay it takes me about 20minutes but at least I could choose when to do it instead of rushing to squeeze it in before Ethan’s bedtime 🙂 ).  I sat in front of the mirror all ready and rearing to go and as I got through layer upon layer, I noticed more and more grey hairs!  Now I KNOW that I have grey hair and I spotted my first grey hair years ago so it doesn’t even shock me anymore but the amount of them, wow…

A few months ago, I spoilt myself with a visit to the hairdresser.  Now, as many of you Jo’burgers know, dying your hair at a hairdresser in Sandton and the surrounding areas (i.e. most of Jo’burg) can cost an arm and a leg, so I decided to do a “home job” out of the box and just get my hair cut and blowed at the hairdresser.  Of course, this fancy place I go to (French name and all…Isjon 🙂 ) does a full blown assessment (at a small fee) on your first visit where they tell you what colours suit you i.t.o. hair colour, make-up, clothes etc. and I thought, why not indulge and see what they have to say.  It actually turned out that the colour I’d put on my hair that morning was in the spectrum of the “recommended colours” for my hair so I was quite chuffed with myself until…the hairdresser made a silly comment…AH, I SEE NOW WHY YOU’RE DYING YOUR HAIR BUT THERE’S SOME THAT DIDN’T TAKE.  At first, I was completely confused, I had no idea what he was talking about ‘cos I really did just dye my hair for a change!  Then it dawned on me and I had a little giggle to myself.  Yup, not even 30 and I have so many greys.  While we were away at the Drakensberg, my mother also commented on my greys and once again, with no offense taken whatsoever, I had a little giggle. 

So yesterday, while I watched in amazement at the tons of grey hairs I have, it got me thinking.  My mum dyes her hair and has for years (sorry mum if you wanted that to be a secret!!), my gran, God rest her soul, had black hair at the tender age of 80-plus and only went “grey” after lots of persuasion from everyone in the family – she had to get her hair dyed silver-grey at the hairdresser in order to make the regrowth blend in instead of having grey hair blend into pitch black hair!!!  I know that one thing’s for sure…my grey hairs are not going to get any less, I have enough grey hair for Africa on my head…so the big question is: should I go for the “salt-and-pepper” look and embrace it or should I try and cover it up?  Hmmm, maybe I should try and cover it up till I’m at least 30, or maybe 40 😉

6 responses »

  1. Robyn says:

    Dude, I’ve always said that I’d never dye my hair because I was greying, I always said I would grey gracefully.. but at 30 to be going grey.. HAAIBO! It ages you, it makes you look tired and worn.. please cover up before people start feeling sorry for you! Maybe we can go grey gracefully from about 50 or so.. but not now! Hahahaha! As for me, I don’t have any greys, my mother’s good genes, thank you very much!

  2. Simone says:

    Good genes, my foot Robs! Marlon is full of grey. He is Mr grey himself (get it…hehehe). Jody,I’m suffering with the same thing. Covering up this Saturday @ the salon. I don’t care how much it costs! I want them GONE…

  3. Robyn says:

    Hahaha! Do not be jealous of my good genes! My mother only started greying in her 50’s! Marlon clearly has his father’s genes! I just hope my kids have my genes and not their father’s cos they will be bald by 18. I won’t have people feeling sorry for me, shame, she’s stressed out, young mother with two small kids, look how she is greying, probably not coping…NO THANK YOU! When I start greying, I will most definitely cover it up!

  4. lorna says:

    jodie,grey hair, grey matter, that means your brain is slowing down, so perk yourself up and go for a total change as you,re nearing your 30th birthday soon. i recomend you go for blonde streaks all over,no big deal, the world over women change their hair.so be bold and take the plunge. if you don;t like it you can change it. be bold and go for it. love auntie lorna.xx

Leave a Reply

