This weekend, we took Ethan for his last swimming lesson.  He’s been going to swimming lessons at the same swim school since he was about 9 months old and he thoroughly enjoys his lessons.  In the last few weeks, I’ve really seen quite an improvement in his “water awareness” and with the one-on-one lessons that we have managed to have per chance (the other kids somehow all moved time slots), Ethan’s really come out of his shell.  I think this is why it’s made it harder for me to leave. 

At the end of May, I gave the head of the swim school our 1 months’ calendar notice saying that we’d be stopping at the end of June.  My reasoning for this was twofold – firstly, it’s quite a drive to go to Craighall Park every Saturday morning when there are other swim schools closer to home and secondly, I just didn’t feel that the lesson was going anywhere and the conditions of the pool and lessons were not improving.  Between the pool pump that the landlord was just not fixing, the shortened lessons and the constant repetition of the ssaammmmeee exercises because the babies in the group kept changing, I made the decision that it just wasn’t worth it, afterall, Ethan’s not at an age where he needs stroke correction or he wants to take up swimming professionally (although, I think that’s the direction he could head in one day judging by his love of water!). 

So we’ve swam our month out (we won’t be in Jo’burg this weekend for the last lesson…another post for another day 🙂 involving surprises!) and my heart was quite sore saying goodbye to the teacher this past Saturday.  Ethan was thoroughly enjoying his one-on-one lesson and she kept saying – I’m going to miss this morning smile, I’m so sad that Ethan’s leaving – which just made it worse!  I know, I know, it’s just a swimming lesson but just like that, it’s over.  What makes it worse is that I can’t seem to find any other swim schools closer to home that can accommodate us at the time we’d like and at the price (I recently received a quote for R110 for 15minutes!!!!) but hey, like I say, it’s not like we’re grooming Ethan to compete in the Olympic Games…well, not right now.  I’m sure that we’ll find another school soon!!  Besides, we now have Saturday mornings free – whoop whoop 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

