The 8th of March – one of my favourite days in the whole world – my birthday, my day 🙂

Our family are HUGE on birthdays. Whenever I tell people this, they seem to think it’s weird? But from a granny who insisted on taking the day off and never working on her birthday and parents who’d sing at the crack of dawn with a cup of coffee in hand and gifts galore…to a mother who still, at my tender age of 30 (soon to be 31), calls me several times on my birthday singing a different happy birthday tune every.single.time…that’s how I’ve been brought up. Birthdays are meant to be special!!

I usually start counting down 6months before my birthday – on the 8th of September – yes, really. It’s actually a co-incidence that I think about my birthday being 6months on from then – it’s really not planned. The reason is because two of my friends have a birthday on that day! At any rate. The build up to my birthday is always one of the most special times of the year for me. On the 14th of February, it’s Valentines Day. The week after is my mum’s birthday. Then our wedding anniversary follows the week after that. And finally, my birthday’s on the 8th of March!!

For some reason, this year though, I feel different. The usual excitement is not there. I haven’t been counting down. I didn’t make plans more than a month away like I usually do and I didn’t send out a fancy invitation a month in advance to my friends. In fact, I decided on a restaurant for lunch (I was even two minded as to whether to do a big thing with friends or just spend the day with my family, although the former option won as I really do like being out with a big group of people) only two weeks ago and sent a message to my friends via wassap. I followed up a week ago on who was attending and made the booking only two days ago. I have no idea why this year is different. Has my birthday lost it’s excitement? I wonder if it’s because I’m getting older? Is this how my birthday’s going to be in the future???

Oh well…who knows?! For some reason, I’m quite comfortable with it though. Today’s my birthday eve and right now, the highlight of my birthday is that my folks are here in Jo’burg and I’m hoping to squeeze a happy birthday song with a cup of coffee and gifts in bed out of them tomorrow morning just like the good old days 🙂 🙂 🙂

Birthday balloons and a gift on my desk this morning!

Birthday balloons and a gift on my desk this morning!

 

Leave a Reply

