This time last week, we were on a plane to Port Elizabeth, my husband’s hometown. Now, due to financial constraints, we very seldom visit PE – in fact, we usually take a 10day trip there once a year – but this was no ordinary trip. We were off to PE to celebrate my sister-in-law’s wedding, a day we had been looking forward to for a very long time! My sister-in-law and her now husband (Mr and Mrs Bosman to you 🙂 ) are two of my favourite people. She is one of Ethan’s godmothers (yes, he has two!) and we’ve been very close for many years. You see, Angelo and I have been together for 13years now, and I met my in-laws in the second year that we were dating so I really am close to all of them, but especially to my sister-in-law who’s the only girl out of four children, the other three of course, being boys. At any rate, I digress…

Ethan chilling

Ethan chilling

Me and Ethan

Me and Ethan

The Howes

The Howes

So, off we headed to PE, super excited for the mini holiday that lay ahead. Thursday and Friday were mostly dedicated to wedding stuff but both days were so laid back as Mrs Bosman was super organized! There were a few odds and ends that still needed doing, but overall, the two days were very relaxed and we got to spend plenty of time with our feet up, chatting and catching up. Saturday morning (the wedding day) was equally relaxed. I must admit that I was stressing out slightly due to the fact that we were getting done in the same house as the bride and her bridesmaids were, but everything according to plan – Ethan even managed to squeeze in a nap which was a serious blessing in disguise as it meant that he was on top form till late into the night. The wedding itself was amazing. Plain and simple but very elegant and I think that everybody had a fantastic celebration.

Mr and Mrs Bosman

Mr and Mrs Bosman

Ethan unintentionally matching the wedding colours

Ethan unintentionally matching the wedding colours

The wedding venue

The wedding venue

Of course, on Sunday, there was the usual opening of gifts and catching up on how the rest of the wedding went as we left before the end. We spent the morning at home and then joined my brother-in-law and his wife for lunch at Cubana on the beachfront. We had such a lovely afternoon there just chatting and catching up – drinking cocktails and eating delicious food – and Ethan got to spend some QT with his uncle, aunty and his eldest cousin.

Monday was our family day 🙂 🙂 🙂  With everybody at work, we could do what we wanted at leisure, and fortunately, the weather played along too. After getting done and grabbing a Wimpy breakfast at The Boardwalk, we visited the oceanarium, Bayworld. Now, this is no ordinary oceanarium!  Unfortunately, there are no longer any dolphins there, but the place is still really amazing! From the seals and penguins to a snake park and a full museum, we were thoroughly entertained for over an hour. Ethan was petrified in awe of the dinosaurs and pulled us around in circles wanting to get a look at everything around him. I must have taken at least 100 pictures on my trusty cellphone, but my favourite has got to be this one;-

My guys and a beeggg dinosaur!

My guys and a beeggg dinosaur!

Straight afterwards, we headed off to the beachfront. In the 12years I’ve been visiting PE, the weather has seldom played along. We seem to bring the rain to PE every single year we visit but this time was different, and especially on Monday, “our day”. The skies were clear, there was hardly any wind blowing, and so we seized the opportunity to go for a swim. Ethan, bare bums and all, thoroughly enjoyed himself with his dad and I really didn’t want to leave. I wanted him to swim all day, but of course, my 2year old needs a nap and boy, did the beach air do him well. He passed out the minute we got into the car and didn’t even move a muscle when I picked him up to take him out of the car and put him on the bed for his nap. I don’t think I’ve managed to do that since he was about 6months old. He was finished – shame, poor child.

Loving the sea!

Loving the sea!

Sleeping like the proverbial baby...

Sleeping like the proverbial baby…

That evening, my sister-in-law made dinner for us all including my two brother-in-laws who came over with their partners and we all sat around and chatted.

Overall, we had an amazing trip to PE. PE’s just one of those cities that I love more and more every.single.time I visit it. Over the years, I’ve learned to just sit back and go with the flow when I’m there – something I find very hard doing. I’m usually extremely anal in planning everything to a T very organized and plan well in advance, but having learned to give the planning over to the hubster when we’re visiting his city really does me a world of good.

Thanks PE for a great holiday – I really really hope that our next visit is very soon!!

2 responses »

  1. Robyn says:

    Is he taller than Hannah yet? I’m sure he is. He looks so TALL in that sleeping photo!

Leave a Reply

