Wow, I am exhausted! I assume it has a lot to do with my lack of sleep (thanks to Master Howe and his complete disregard for sleeping 😦 ) but other than the lack of sleep…overall, I just feel absolutely.exhausted! As if it’s time to go on leave…yes, I was on leave over December, a mere four months ago and for TEN DAYS at that! but hey, who’s counting…as if December holidays are around the corner but alas, they’re far, far, faarrrrr away.

Yesterday was just one of those days. From the time I woke up, I felt like death warmed up. Now, I haven’t been feeling so good for a few days actually. I suppose that the combination of my lack of sleep coupled with my hectic gym workout and my feeling “out of sorts” finally took its toll on me. My “diet” (I use this term very loosely as really, I’m not on an actual diet as such but I’ve been eating much healthier in order to maximize my weight loss) went pear shaped. At about 10am, I was sitting thinking about how few Easter eggs I’d consumed over the weekend [read: completely zoned out of my work, day dreaming…do you now get the type of day that I had???] and that sent me on a hunt to find one. I ended up demanding politely asking my boss if I could have his one as he’d only eaten one of the two that we’d been given at work. I ate half a Kit-Kat before that as well (have you tasted the slow cool Kit-Kat??  I think it’s the first chocolate that I haven’t enjoyed…who wants a bubblegum after taste when you’ve just eaten a chocolate???). Why is it that us women find comfort in eating???  I was dying to have a burger and a chocolate milkshake for lunch, but I managed to completely avoid that and instead, ate my small portion of leftover pasta from the night before with a glass of water.  Good hey 🙂

I left work on a mission to get to Pick n Pay as soon as I could to do a mini grocery fillup for the week as I often do on a Monday after work…only to sit in traffic for ONE HOUR just to get half way home (my usual drive home takes 20minutes!!!!). I stopped at the pharmacy and after standing patiently waiting for the pharmacist to try and put my medication through my medical aid, I eventually gave up and paid cash only to discover that the scanner was not picking up the barcode of one my boxes of medicine.  Seriously???!!!!

And that’s when I decided that I needed to slow down! My usual 20minute shop took at least 10minutes longer as I casually strolled up and down each aisle…I just needed some “me time”.

Shopping 

In the car, I had a mini “meltdown”…I called my mother and asked her if I could move back home. Just imagine…no dishes, no shopping, no budgeting, no cooking…okay, okay…I’m prepared to help out with all of those (maybe not budgeting!) but at least my mama will be around! Funny how when you’re feeling down, there’s little else you want other than your mother.  Of course, when I got home, one hug and kiss from my little man, and I felt right as rain…maybe I should be a stay-at-home mum???

Anyway, seeing as Christmas is not even close, I’ll just have to cling on to the few public holidays that we have coming up and try to sleep at 8:05pm, 5minutes after Ethan goes down. Here’s hoping that the rest of this week goes by very quickly!!!  🙂 🙂 🙂

Saturday

3 responses »

  1. Katie says:

    Jodie – I’m with you there! I’m sure that we’ve missed a Christmas holiday between December and now 🙂

  2. Robyn says:

    I know why you’re sooooo tired 🙂

Leave a Reply

