So, Ethan went through a “phase” of waking up crying from nightmares in the middle of the night and after weeks of it happening, I asked our trusted nurse for some advice on how to overcome this. Her immediate suggestion was of course to cut out tv. She said that anything after 4pm makes their minds work overtime. It was an obvious solution and great in theory, but a bit harder in practise. There are many evenings when tv is my saving grace! There I said it…bad mum?? Yes, I was one of those mums who didn’t want my kids watching tv ever often, but with two kids, it’s tv every time sometimes easier just to dump one in front of the tv…especially when dealing with a wailing baby!!

Anyway, I digress. So I took her advice and immediately cut out tv in the evenings, resorting rather to reading fairy tales, an old favourite of mine which Ethan – for no apparent reason – abandoned at a very young age. This was in an attempt to calm his active imagination of course, but after reading some of these stories, I’m beginning to wonder how much better reading is at bedtime as opposed to tv…

– In Jack and the beanstalk…Jack chops down the beanstalk, the giant falls and…DIES!

– In Chicken Licken…after Henny Penny, Ducky Lucky, Draky Lakey and the crew join in the great trek to visit the king to tell him that the sky is falling, Foxy Loxy leads them to his den and…gobbles them all up.

– In the three billy goats, there’s a TROLL under the bridge! Ok, nobody dies…but a troll at bedtime?!?!

– In little red riding hood, there’s a WOLF and emphasis is placed on his larger than large eyes, ears and…teeth…scary much?!?!?!

The other night, I started reading a children’s story to Ethan and eventually just had to give up after the king married an “evil stepmum”, banished his daughter from the kingdom, turned her into some random animal and threatened to kill her if she ever returned…try explain that to a three year old! Thumbelina is forced to marry…a mole??!!!!!

FAIRY tales….more like scary tales to me 🙂

4 responses »

  1. Mrs FF says:

    HmMmm those are all scary tales! Time to hit the stores for more kid friendly tales. We read short bible stories and some other classics but so far nothing scary.

  2. MamaCat says:

    I guess it is in the eye of the beholder type of situation. Kids might not see all the bad things.
    I do not like fairy tales, so I read out loud whatever I happen to be reading at the time.

  3. Hence why I’m seriously considering publishing 1 or 2 books of my own just for my girls…might not be world class talesbut definitely not going to scare the crap outta them come bedtime 🙂

Leave a Reply

