So all’s been going well on our side…but these queues for school applications has left me kind of flustered.  Well, I’m feeling better now after speaking to a number of people and finding out more about all of this chaos that was happening at the beginning of the week.  I still don’t get why, in this day and age, people have to QUEUE to apply for schooling.  Surely there’s a more efficient way to do this?  Then somebody pointed out this morning that apparently the reason for that is to give everybody a fair chance because not everybody has access to Internet.  Fair point but guys, queue’ing from the night before and sleeping outside the school…am I the only one who thinks this is ridiculous??!!!!  What’s scaring me more is that in 2-3years time, Ethan will be going into the school system and the hubster we’ll be the ones queue’ing for hours if things haven’t changed by then 😦  Is good education so hard to come by these days???  Ay yay yay.

Anyway, moving on.  This morning, I had quite a funny conversation with Ethan.  My alarm went off and he literally woke up crying from a bad dream a minute later.  So I laid with him for a while, but after 10minutes, it was clear that he wasn’t dozing off anytime soon.  So I carried him to our bed to lay for a bit while I jumped into the shower.  Then I went into our bathroom (the shower is only in the guest bathroom so I shower there and then get changed, do makeup, brush teeth etc. in our own bathroom) to get done and Mr asks me to lay with him again.  So I tell him that I can’t because I’m very late.  So he asks for what and I say I’m late, I’m late, for a very important date (sound familiar?  Alice in Wonderland :-))…to which he replies…what date are you late for mum, is it gym?  GYM??!!!  Okkk then.  I haven’t set a foot into the gym since I was half way through my second pregnancy.  In fact, I don’t even have a gym membership anymore.

It wasn’t that that got me though.  What followed was too funny for words!  Ok, not particularly funny but I could either cry or laugh and I chose to laugh 😉  I was taking my contraceptive pill, when he looked up and asked what tablet am I taking.  The conversation went something like this…

Ethan: Mum, what are you taking?

Me:  It’s a tablet boy.

Ethan:  What is it for?

Me:  ummm, it’s only for girls to take.

Ethan:  But what is it for, what does it do?

Me(after much thought and a little hesitation…I mean, it’s not the easiest thing to discuss contraception with your 3-year old especially because in my mind, that could lead to the “where do babies come from” discussion which I’m really not ready for!)…It stops mummy from having more babies.

Ethan:  Do you have a baby in your tummy mum?

Me:  No, I don’t boy.

Ethan:…BUT YOUR TUMMY IS FAT.

Seriously?!  Talk about a flattering morning comment.  Needless to say, I changed the subject pretty quickly and was out of the house in a jiffy, fat tummy and all 🙂 🙂 🙂  Kids really do say the darndest things!!

 

Leave a Reply

