So it’s Saturday morning, 8am, and guess what I’m doing? Laying in my bed, under the covers, relaxing. No kiddies in sight, no noises, no rush, I’m just enjoying this “me” time. I’m about to get up and get me a big cup of tea and a rather unhealthy oliebol…hmm, just what the doctor ordered!

The past two nights and days sans kids have really been great. Don’t get me wrong – I adore my darlings, I’ve missed them like crazy, and I can’t wait to see them in a few hours, but having a break and spending some QT with the hubster was seriously much needed!!

IMG_20150626_110004

I was just saying to him last night how, with the kids at this age (I’m sure this will change in a few years), I sometimes feel like I’ve lost my own identity. I don’t even have time to think of me anymore and that’s ok, it really is. This comes as part of the package of having kids. But oh boy, is it nice to rediscover myself and not to mention the hubster (wink wink, nudge nudge) even if it’s only for two nights.

We’ve done nothing much but reconnect and boy has it been worth it!! We pretty much shopped for Ethan most of yesterday because boy child has outgrown all of his clothes, but in between, we’ve watched two movies, had breakfast out on a weekday nogal!, bought take-out for supper both nights – I even went to the hairdresser, something I haven’t done since I was 6months pregnant – but most importantly…we haven’t had to worry about anybody else but US 🙂

In a few hours, the little rascals will be back, the house will be noisy, there will be lots of hugs and kisses and my heart will be overflowing with love but for now…the crossword puzzle is coming out and I may just squeeze in a massage too…or I may not, but at least I’m well rested and rejuvenated and I feel like a real human again 😉

How cute is this child???

How cute is this child???

Thank you nana and gramps (projectile vomit and all) for loving the boys so much and for giving us this much needed break. Love you both so much xxx

2 responses »

  1. etate says:

    You’re welcome! We love having them to ourselves – must do this again soon! (Or maybe not) wink wink

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

  2. MamaCat says:

    You are so lucky I am oozing envy! Lol. Glad you enjoyed some alone time. Until I had a child I did not realise how much I need time to myself.

Leave a Reply

