I’ve been thinking and thinking and thinking some more about something really close to my heart – so close that I’ve decided not to blog about it for now.  It all started when I read this blogpost…read it, interesting food for thought.

So we’ve just come back from our PE holiday and we’re back into the groove of things.  We have some exciting stuff coming up soon.  I just love to be busy and as most of you know, I adore my family.  So the upcoming weeks are going to be just amazing!

The baby’s birthday

My parents will be up in Jo’burg on Thursday this week.  We’ll be celebrating my little sister’s birthday on Saturday.  I can’t remember the last time we were all together (the Tate family that is) to celebrate one of our birthdays.  Probably my dad’s 60th which is only two years ago, but I don’t think we were all together to celebrate any of our birthdays in the last year or so, so really looking forward to this!!  We also haven’t spent Andrea’s birthday together since her 21st a few years ago so I’m looking forward to the dinner that we’ve got planned this weekend.  The cherry on the top is that our nanny will be babysitting the boys, so it’s an adult only dinner – whoop whoop!!

The kids’ holiday

On Monday, the boys will both be going back to Durban with my folks for a week.  Yes, you read right, A WEEK!!!!!!!!!!  This will be the second time that both boys are away with my folks and although we’re going to miss them dearly (it’s only Riley’s second time away, the first time was only for two nights, and he’s a much more fussier baby than Ethan was!!), we’re also looking forward to the “down time” and the QT ❤ ❤ ❤ of course 😉  Not having to worry about kids’ routines, not having to cook dinner for littlies and not having to wake up during the night to tend to babies…b-ring it!!

Enjoying the good weather!

Enjoying the good weather!

My work offsite

This year, we’re off to Cape Town for the weekend.  Can I get a whoop whoop 🙂  I’m lucky in that I’ll get to see my aunt and cousin on the Saturday as well as my bestie on the Sunday morning before I fly back out.  I’m looking forward to rest and relaxation!  I want to read my Kindle, sit at the pool (or if it’s raining – CT can be funny like that – under my duvet) and watch tv, and just have some ME time!!!  The hubster will be home alone – no kids, no wife – I’m sure he can’t wait either!!!!

The two weeks thereafter

My folks will be returning with the kids on the 19th and then they’ll be staying for just over a week in Jo’burg.  I can’t wait.  I love having my parents around and it really does make things so much easier.  Having the extra hands around wanting to be with the kids is a blessing of note!

Birthdays

Both Ethan and Riley’s birthdays are around the corner.  Ethan’s on the 5th of December and Riley’s on the 11th.  I’m starting to get planning.  We’re doing two separate celebrations – nothing big but still, it means I need to plan for two parties.  I still can’t believe that Ethan will be a whole big boy 4 and Riley a full year.  Where in the world has time flown???  The hardest thing for me right now is the invitations…I love doing them myself and have done so for the past few years….but I just have zero inspiration at the moment 😦  Luckily I still have a bit of time.  Talking about time, what is the earliest you think I should send the invitations out???  The second challenge is trying to find a gift for Riley.  Yes, he doesn’t know any difference but it’s his birthday!  Birthdays are big in our family, and besides which, he deserves to be spoilt.  But what do you get for a child who has all the hand-me-downs of his bigger brother???!!!!!  🙂

Anyhoo, that’s us!  What exciting things do you have happening in your life at the moment?

2 responses »

  1. MamaCat says:

    Nothing exciting just work, and it is my own fault. I read that post you linked, and it is something I think about all the time. I used to sometimes be broody, but I am very happy with my one, and the little house we live in, because I think a bigger house or different lifestyle may come with chains I do not want.
    Your boys are lovely!
    I consider you a brave woman, I have not let my little one stay away overnight anywhere without me. I am a control freak.

  2. Jodie says:

    Oh no!! Sorry about the work situation…so tough to juggle when you have littlies. Ethan first spent 10days at my folks just after his 1st birthday and he’s done it a few times since then…try it if you do have someone to take your one (the first time is really tough but it gets easier)…it makes a heap of difference, even just one night!!! Thanks for the compliment…I do think they’re lovely too 🙂 Haha.

Leave a Reply

