A whole 7years.  I honestly cannot believe it!  At times, it feels like only a few years and of course, at other times, more like 77 years 😉  Married for 7 years…where have the years gone?

So we met a whole 15years ago – first year of varsity, first week of “O-week” (orientation week at UCT).  In fact, we officially met then but we had bumped into each other a few times before then…all on the same day.  You see, our residences were brother and sister houses and so we did a few things together in O-week.  The day we first crossed eyes was on a Peninsula tour.  He was with his res and I with mine.  I recall walking past him and “checking him out”.  He even remembers to this day what I was wearing – shock horror!!  I’m talking a Kangol floppy hat (why did I think I was so cool?!?!) and short shorts…something I haven’t worn since that day, haha.  I remember that he was wearing a green cap with an “A” embroided on it.  A for Angelo…hmmmm?!  But of course, I didn’t know his name then.  My friends commented on how good looking he was and that was that.  The bus moved to it’s next stop.  I can’t even remember which beach/lookout stop it was, but we went to the ice-cream shop.  I was standing against a wall in the shop waiting for my friends when I decided to walk to the other side of the shop and see what was going on on that side.  As I walked around the corner wall, who do I bump into AGAIN, twice in one day…why of course, my future husband 🙂  We didn’t talk, I don’t even think we exchanged smiles.  I just shyly went back to my side of the shop and continued waiting.  Once my friends were done, we strolled back to our bus and on the way, I saw mister standing in their bus just watching me walk.  And that was it.  Again, we didn’t talk, I had no idea who he was, and I never thought I’d ever get to know him.  He was just a good looking guy that I’d seen a few times in one day.  Talk about “meant to be”…the first sign!

Fast forward a few days later…the Valentines party.  We went up to another res and then onto the “after party” at the cricket field.  My friend and I were walking around trying to mingle when I spotted a good looking boy crouching on the floor (a position that I’d later discover was a “Howe” stance…all the brothers do it…and now my own kids do it as well).  Forward me…mum, you taught me so well, hahahahaha…walked over to his friend and asked what the good looking boy’s name was.  The hubster was not the tiniest bit interested.  In fact, I don’t even think he saw me walk over.  Let’s just say a few drinks too much?!  Or shame, maybe he was playing hard to get.  Anyhoo, his friend introduced us and we “hooked up” that night.  A few days later, he came to visit and gave me a sob story of how I should choose – I could be his girlfriend or nothing at all.  I agreed, I had nothing to lose afterall.  That was February!  I had coffee with my mum that April when I was home for varsity holidays.  She asked who this Angelo was and I told her that I’m going to marry him.  Two months after dating him, I just knew I would spend the rest of my life with him.  And the rest is history…we got married 8 years after dating.

Angelo's gift

Our Love Life…the hubster’s gift to me…romantic much?! ❤

[As a side:  sign 2?!  His late mother and my mother share a birthday, his brother and my father share a birthday and he and my late grandmother share a birthday…meant to be?!?!]

It’s been one hell of a rough ride.  The tough times have been seriously tough.  Our relationship has been put to the test time and time again and having children has not made it any easier.  At times, it’s felt like the good was heavily outweighed by the bad times but you know what, it’s 7 years on and we’re still going strong.  I still love his as much as the first day I met him.  He still makes my heart beat faster when I see him and after all we’ve been through, I know I’d choose him time and time again.

My cousin blogged about Seven and how in the Bible, the number 7 depicts completion, perfection and wholeness and this really gives me affirmation of how I feel about our marriage, our family and our lives this year.  I’ve said it from when the year started – this is OUR year.  Yes, there are times when it’s tough…yes, we often don’t like each other…but this year is going to be OUR year and I cannot wait to see what God has in store for us!!!

To the hubster…I love you babe and I’m so glad that I get to spend my life with you.  You complete me.  You make me smile.  You make me angry as hell too 😉 but I wouldn’t choose anybody else to be my partner.  To many many many more happy years together…happy anniversary xxx

Anniversary gift

7years…copper…my gift to the hubster!

5 responses »

  1. catjuggles says:

    Love the story and those very romantic gifts

  2. MamaCat says:

    Such a beautiful story, and so sweet! Congratulations.

  3. Mrs FF says:

    It definitely was meant to!! And I do love the number 7! I am a July baby after all.

    Here’s to many more years of love happiness and friendship

Leave a Reply

