I often catch myself doing things and thinking – my mother would do exactly that!  Or I get comments from my family – “you’re just like mum”.  And it doesn’t upset me in the least.  It doesn’t make me nervous, it doesn’t make me feel like I’m getting older quickly and it sure doesn’t make me want to change it.  I’m happy that I’m like my mother because I love my mother more than words can explain.  I love the way she makes me feel special.  I love how she goes out of her way to make us know how much she loves us.  From the messages, the odd delivery of flowers to pep us up when we’re down, the odd thing that she buys for me just because she saw it and thought of me…my mother makes me feel loved and I love that about her.  On my birthday, she calls me numerous times in the day singing happy birthday in various tunes.  She takes the time out to buy me a birthday gift that screams me.  She often sends me messages and e-mails, just because – for no reason in particular – to tell me how much she loves me and how special I am to her.  She asks about my children all the time and she often tells me what a great mother I am, re-assurance much needed on most days!!!

Yesterday, we had visitors from PE arrive, and I caught myself doing something that my mother does for us EVERY TIME we visit Durban.  I prepared their bed and left a special gift for them on top of their towels with choccies for them to enjoy 🙂 🙂 🙂

[Disclaimer: my mother doesn’t leave us a gift every time 😉 but the towels and choccies are a standard!]

Megan's bed

 

If I can make somebody special, I try and do it because I know from my mum, how it feels to be treated that way.  I am like my mother and I love it!!

 

3 responses »

  1. Zelda says:

    Such lovely words Jo – I am so very proud to be your mother. I will treasure these words. Love you always!

  2. etate says:

    Jodie’s blog

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

  3. MamaCat says:

    It is amazing to have a feeling of being loved.

Leave a Reply

