I often get asked who I’m closer to – my dad or my mum – and I usually answer well…both.  Because I am.  And I’m so greatful that I have such close relationships with them both.  I am exactly like my mother, a carbon copy, so much so that it scares me at times!  In a good way of course 🙂  I chat to my mum numerous times in the day whether it be on wassap, over the phone or via e-mail.  We have such a special relationship.  And the same is to be said about my dad.  Our relationship is probably different to the relationship I have with my mum in many ways.  I mean, I don’t call him to tell him how drained I am or how the kids are driving me insane or how much I need to lose weight and how bad my hair is looking today.  But I call him every now and again to chat and he’s my sound board for a lot of things.  Mostly practical things like budgets, work stuff etc., but our relationship is one that I wish all dads and daughters had.  I really think – from my experience – that the bond between father and daughter is like no other.

This morning, on my way to work, I heard a song dedication on the radio from a girl to her grandfather.  The song that they played was Endless Love by Lionel Richie and Diana Ross and it made me think of the Luther Vandross and Mariah Carey version – the one that I know best, the song that my dad and I sang as a duet a few years ago at a family New Years’ Eve party.  And of course, the tears welled up (why am I so emotional?!?!) as I thought about my dad and what a special relationship we have.

My dad is really like no other.  A phenomenal man who built himself up from next to nothing to the successful husband, father and man that he is today.  I admire him and he inspires me daily.  His hard work and dedication in all aspects of life, in everything he does, makes him such a good role model.  I don’t even have the words to fully express how much he means to me but dad, I want to remind you today of how special you are to me and how I thank God every day for giving us a dad like you.  I love you to the moon xxx

2 responses »

  1. MamaCat says:

    It is nice to see other relationships. I sometimes pine for a closer family relationship. I have always held myself away from any close relationship. The only people I hug, kiss and share anything with is Hubby and HB. My parents love me, I know that, but I have never felt I could talk to them. Even now, when I feel the need to talk to someone, I wish I had a better relationship.

    • Jodie says:

      Shame man…I’m so sorry that you don’t have that close relationship. But at least you DO have people close to you i.e. hubby and HB. And hopefully, you can foster and nurture that close relationship with your child 🙂

Leave a Reply

