So my parents are in Jo’burg for a few days and the kids (especially Ethan of course) are so excited to see nana and grandpa…it really makes my heart happy.  To know that they have such a special relationship with their grandparents and that their grandparents, already now at such a young age, mean so much to them.

When I think about my grandparents and when I was growing up, my relationship with them was so special.  I adored them and looked so forward to visiting them or them coming to Durban from Cape Town.  Moving to Cape Town to study at UCT allowed me to grow that relationship even more.  I tried to pop in for Sunday lunches as often as I could and when I had a free afternoon, I’d pick them up and take them to buy KFC for lunch (my granddad’s weakness) or snoek and chips.  And let’s not forget my ma’s Stoney gingerbeer, probably top of her list of luxuries, maybe even before chocolate!!  I always teased my gran about me being her favourite grandchild.  Even when she eventually went blind in both eyes, I’d walk into the house and announce myself as her favourite 🙂  We shared a bond so close that I can look back fondly now and remember those good times and the stories of the years they grew up, what it was like having children and struggling as well as the good times they enjoyed with the few pennies that they had.  The love that they had for each other will also forever remain in my memory.  I recall my gran asking me – after Angelo and I had dated for about 2 or 3years – when we’re going to get married.  My answer…I’ll only marry a man when I know that we’ll be married for as long as you guys have been married for.  I think that it was over 60years by the time they passed on, about 6months from each.

At any rate, I digress.  My grandparents played such an important role in my life and my memory of them will live on forever.  I pray that my kids experience that same bond with my own parents and they continue to build on their relationship so that they will always remember their grandparents and the love that they had for each other, for their children and for their grandkids 🙂

See you later nana and gramps, the boys can’t wait xxx

One response »

  1. MamaCat says:

    Yes, grandparents are different with their grandchildren. Your relationship with yours sounds magical.
    HB loves my parents and it is highlight when we visit. He has only met Hubby’s parents once, and that was when he was one, so he does not remember.

Leave a Reply

