Over the last month or so, my family have been in Jo’burg and visited our house a lot.  The main reason for this is that we have two littlies and we have a garden, so it makes more sense when we have a breakfast or a lunch or just a family get together, for the kids to be not only in their own environment, but have the ability to run around and play outside.  You see, both my sisters stay in flats on the top floor which means no garden leaving not much outside space for the kiddos to run around, resulting in them being cooped up inside.  So when my parents are around, our house becomes the “go to”.  In fact, even when my parents aren’t around, my sisters often pop in and spend time with us.  But I’d like to think that this is not the only reason that they all flock to us.  And over the festive, I felt this more than I have ever before.

To me, our house has become the family home – the home away from home – my parents’ home that is.  My family are totally comfortable in our home and we love having them.  I also have my husband to thank for this.  Despite the things that he does that drive me insane (they’re all that way aren’t they 😉 ), my husband is the really the perfect host.  He always makes everybody feel comfortable, makes sure that they have a drink in hand and will go out of his way to make sure that they’re having a good time.  He’s often the life of the party, really entertaining and full of jokes.  He’s totally comfortable with having my family around and after all these years, he still asks me after each and every visit, if I’m happy to have them around and whether I had a good time.  It’s because of this that I feel comfortable having them over on whatever day, whatever time.  I love that our house and our home is the home and from home, and I hope that it’ll always be like that.  That my people will feel happy to visit and that they’ll always feel welcome 🙂

the-hubster-and-i

Mr and Mrs Howe

mum-and-the-girls

My mum and her girls – (Left to Right) Lauren, the middle sister; myself; my mum and Andrea, the baby ❤

lau-and-rents

Mama and papa with middle daughter

3 responses »

  1. That is awesome that your house is the go-to house.

  2. MamaCat says:

    Your family is beautiful. It is so great to have a go-to house and that you all can relax and be together. This is a culture I miss. I find you have to call most people and you cannot just drop in for a chat.

    • Jodie says:

      Thank you very much 🙂 Yes I find the same thing and hate it – organizing a visit months in advance just makes me depressed. I’d much rather prefer the spur of the moment pop-ins 🙂

Leave a Reply

