…she’s a BI-ATCH!  If anything can go wrong, it will…or so Murphy’s Law states.

So a while ago, I commented on how our nanny, now that Riley is also at school full day, doesn’t have much to do.  I know there are lots of you who are in the same situation.  As you will well understand, forking out the money that she usually gets paid in order to ensure that I have somebody around to support us is well worth it!  But at the same time, we live in a small little house, and the actual housework is not enough to keep her busy for five out of five days a week.  Yes, I could FIND stuff for her to do, but there’s only so many times a person can clean the windows, wash the curtains, scrub the shower with a toothbrush (just kidding!!!) before they have nothing to do.  Also, these things don’t need to be done on a daily basis so it could keep her busy for two or three days of the week, but not all five.  And let’s not mention the extra detergents.  So I had the  discussion with her about getting piecemeal work for a day or two in the week and we came to an agreement.  Long story short, I found somebody in the complex who’s looking for help once a week and today was meant to be her very first day.  Let me just say, before I tell you how Murphy killed my vibe today, that one of the “caveats” that I put into the agreement with the lady was that my kids come first.  So if they’re ill and I require our nanny to be at home to look after them, she must be prepared to swap her weekly day for another day in the week.  She was in full agreement and even commented on how her kids were also small and always sickly just a few years ago, so she fully understands.  And then Thursday night came around and while I was trying to sleep (wow I sleep bad, and it has nothing to do with the kids but that’s a story for another day)…

I heard Riley cough.  A croup cough!  And my heart sank.  He’s been snotty for most of the week but not actually full blown flu sick.  All I could think about was how Riley has got.to.go.to.school.today because our “support” will not be around!!!  He fell asleep quite quickly without any more coughing, but then woke up crying blue murder at 5:50am this morning.  I went to his room and he was very upset.  He said he wasn’t feeling well and that his throat was sore and with that, he was coughing as well with a few gagging reflexes in there.  At the time, I just put it down to the mucous buildup or something to that effect.  I gave him some water and a lozenge and put him into our bed with dad while I jumped in the shower.  When I got out, all hell had broken loose.  Riley had vom’d IN our bed and when the hubster took him to the bathroom to continue over the loo, in his crying state, he wet his broeks as well.  Needless to say, the hubster was not impressed, but these things happen.  At the back of my mind, I was like – WHO’S GOING TO LOOK AFTER THIS CHILD TODAY??!!!!!

The morning continued pretty swiftly with Riley in good spirits until…he vomited again 😦  On the floor this time (luckily the bedding wasn’t hit twice!!).  Again, I thought it was all related to congestion.  I was really battling with whether to send him to school so that P could start her first day at her piecemeal job today as planned, or to keep him home, but then I told the hubster that this was part of the condition when I chatted to the lady who was taking P on, and how better to see how she reacts to this than to hit her with it on day 1!  So I went on over to her unit with P in tow, pretty nervous as to how she would react – not to mention that there we were in Jo’burg winter banging on her front door at 7am – and fortunately, she took the news in her stride.  She told me that we knew this upfront, it’s what we discussed, and she understands that kids get sick.  P can just come next week Tuesday instead, and that was it 🙂

So Murphy – we kicked you in the b-hind this time.  Hopefully this doesn’t happen again any time soon…

10 responses »

  1. halberts2014 says:

    Poor Riley, and your bed. Ugh, I still can’t get into cleaning up vomit. I have to hold in my own when I have to clean up Liams, but hey, that’s what a mum does right?
    I’m reminded of the time when DH left a pile of dog vomit on the floor “so that you can see it” rather than clean it up, pffft, men!
    Shame, the other lady she is really understanding. I was expecting her to through a wobbly.
    PS, can your cleaning lady come to me one day a week? I’m not impressed with mine

    • Jodie says:

      Oh cleaning up cat vom has always been my job although we no longer have them, but when we did, both hubby and the boys would walk right over it! Surprisingly, vomit doesn’t bother me whatsoever, especially if it’s coming from my boys. Lucky me!! If you lived this side, I’d happily let you share 😉

  2. Gosh, I feel you.

    Okay first on the vomit – I don’t do vomit – luckily each of our kids has literally only vomited once in their lives and both times it wasn’t me who cleaned up. 1) K was 2 and grabbed her and rushed her to the hospital and 2) C was about 4, at a party, and he and D sorted themselves out in the loos.

    But on the nanny. I’m feeling that big time these days – we pay a lot and I see when I’m working from home how much time there’s nothing to do. She could start at 12 every day and we’d be fine, or 3 days but I need the afternoon from 2:30. I don’t actually know what to do. Today she’s alone til 3…….. Seriously, help! Send me suggestions on whatsapp.

  3. MamaCat says:

    Would an aupair not be cheaper? Then they would only be there when the kids are.
    It is worrying when the kids are sick, especially in your bed. I am OK with vomit. I just do it, hubby would make the situation worse by vomiting too.
    That is how I know he loves me, even when I am vomiting, he will come hold my hair back and offer water and towels…and I know he is holding back his own vomit.

  4. debraaukett says:

    oh my gosh, that’s Murphy for you! Hope Riley feels better now 🙂

  5. elsie says:

    I hope riley got better

Leave a Reply

