My heart is so so so full!  Yesterday, my cousin and her family (including her parents) came over for lunch.  Now my cousin and I are really close – we grew up together and I regard her as my sister – but like so many relationships that I have, we just don’t get together often enough 😦  Yesterday’s visit was planned relatively last minute and the cherry on the top was that my parents are in Jo’burg as well, so they were with us as well as my sister.  It felt like the good old days, a house filled with those closest to me.  House full, close family, good food, even better company, all afternoon…weekend made!!!

Anyhoo, so what’s happening with us (Monday July – July, how even?! – edition) 🙂 🙂 🙂

The boys…

On the weekend, we finally took the plunge and bought the boys a double bunk!  Currently, they sleep in separate rooms, but I’ve been wanting to get them a double bunk and move them into the same room for forever.  I must admit that it has a lot to do with free’ing up the third room to be a spare room again 🙂  But it’s also because they really have such a good relationship and what better way to strengthen it than to share a room.  Riley is relativey oblivious as to how the double bunk is going to change the current sleeping arrangements, but Ethan is over the moon!!  He cannot wait.

Seeing as my folks are around, instead of taking the boys with us to sort out the bunk bed, we dropped them with nana and grandpa on Saturday and were left with a few hours on our hands to shop and look around uninterrupted.  Of course, we ended this off with a delicious impromptu “date day” – lunch at Roco Mamas.  So nice!  We chatted about anything and everything and afterwards, when we got home, I even squeezed in a nap before the rascals returned.  But every time we go out, we realise just how quick the boys are growing and how “alone time” has evolved over the years.  A few years ago, passing off the boys to my parents meant ME trying to catch up on sleep (irrespective of what the hubster wanted to do…selfish I know, but you try deal with 3.5years of interrupted sleep AND a full time day job!) .  Then it became us having an uninterrupted conversation as we could never talk without a thousand interrupations…this still happens but less so and it’s easier to leave the boys to their own devices and step out of the room to catch up.  Now, depending on when adult time happens, it’s a combination of those two but more so to get out of our usual routine and just unwind, catch up and rediscover each other – the people we are when the kids are not around [read: not attached to mum’s hip].

Watching…

The series This Is Us.  I can’t say it’s an absolute must watch, but I’m really enjoying it!  I love the family dynamics and the different perspectives that each person brings to the show.  I’m also watching Sara se Geheim, a local series that I picked up on DSTv Catchup.  I’m not sure why, but recently, I find local series to be a lot better than just a few years ago.  I enjoyed Lockdown so much, that when I found this series – an Afrikaans drama with subtitles – I thought I should give it a go and it’s really not bad.  I’m finding it so hard to find something that’s really gripping but then again, I’m not much of a tv person.  Is there anything that you suggest that I must try?  

Reading…  

I’ve read 22 out of my total 30 books that I’m aiming to complete by the end of the year.  I have one or two books that I have lined up to read in the next few weeks, but otherwise, I haven’t been able to find a really gripping book either.  I’m currently reading a romance, For Better, For Worse by Carole Matthews, ‘A feel-good tale’ according to Marie Claire and I must say that even though it’s not my style, I’m quite enjoying it.

Looking forward to…

Next week Thursday, I’m flying the boys to Durban to spend a few days of the school holidays with nana and grandpa.  I’m mostly excited for Riley to get on a plane where he actually knows what he’s doing although he’s already said he doesn’t want to fly, hahahaha.  Anyway, the last time we flew was last year June.  Fortunately, the boys both fly very well so I’m not concerned about travelling on my own with them.  I hope that it’s going to be as exciting for them as I am for them to experience it.  The flight in itself is so short but their holiday, as always, will be priceless.  So I stay in Durban until Saturday night and then…IT’S NO KID TIME, whoop whoop!!!!!! *insert dancing person here*  The hubster and I will be alone at home for about a week.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like we’ll be able to take leave for that week, but that’s okay.  Coming home to a quiet house with nothing in particular to do is exactly what I call rest and relaxation.  I cannot wait – I need the time to unwind.  Of course we’ll miss the kids, but we know that they’re in safe hands and will enjoy the time at the coast much more than continuing to go to holiday programme every day.

Anyway, now that Monday’s out of the way, the rest of the week should sail by.  What are you looking forward to in the next few weeks – any holiday plans with the kids?!?!

10 responses »

  1. MamaCat says:

    Everytime I read about your kids going to stay at the grandparents I envy you the quiet time, but I am not there yet. I am still struggling every night to sleep without HB in the bed with us. I am still walking around at night checking up on him. (thankfully our house is pretty small)
    I am still not a huge TV fan, lost count of books, and currently reading a Patricia Cornwall novel (HB picked it out for me in the library and I felt bad, so I took it and now reading it.)
    I hear you on the years of interrupted sleep…took us three years.

    • halberts2014 says:

      I don’t think you can ever walk passed your kiddies room without checking in. That’s why I go to the loo every 2 hours. Well, I’m up anyway 🙂

      • Jodie says:

        I’m up constantly in the night but I honestly don’t have the need to check in on my kids! I understand the habit though, when you’re used to doing something and you just continue to do it 🙂

    • Jodie says:

      I think the difference is that we sent the kids from a very young age so it’s become part of their lives now…going to spend time with their grandparents 🙂 Is HB coping well with sleeping on his own…is it just something that you’re struggling with?!

      • MamaCat says:

        HB sleeps fine in his own room. This is a problem I have and I think HB knows this and then takes advantage of it. If Papa does bedtime, the issue of rooms never come up.

      • Jodie says:

        Oi paloi! Something you need to work on yourself then 😦

  2. halberts2014 says:

    Wow, I’m tired just reading all this lovely craziness. Is there such a thing?
    We did have a bunkbed for DH’s daughter, when she was still allowed to visit all those years back and when Liam came along we used one half for his bed and stored the other half. When he was 6 his asked for bunkbeds so out came the other half. My back just can’t get in there to make the bed and it’s get so stuffy under there. We all prefer the single bed. But I get why you did it, to free up a room. We still have a spare which I usually end up sleeping in when Liam kicks me out of bed to sleep with Dad. Our spare room is also called the “isolation ward” where anyone who is sick gets abandoned to.
    I’m feeling incredibly lazy, where does everyone get time to read and watch TV. It’s like a 3 hour mad dash from 5pm to do homework, eat, bath, etc, etc before we all flop into bed about 8pm. DH and I included. We are all literally lights out by 9 every night, even on weekends.
    PS. I’ve also managed to sneak a nap in for the last 2 weekends. Left the boys watching something or other and then went down the hall to “fold washing”, LOL

    • Jodie says:

      Good one on the “me time”, the nap 🙂 You deserve it!! I’m really interested to see how the bunk bed dynamics are going to work with the boys. I’ll have to blog about it when we do the switch.

  3. I read good things about This is Us on the US blogs. I don’t watch TV but maybe I’d be tempted by this.

Leave a Reply

