Sometimes it’s so tough being a parent and being responsible for your children!  You mums out there…I’m sure there have been times when your child has wondered off – even for just a few minutes.  Walked away from you just to check something out or call their sibling or whatever.  It can’t just be…or is it?!?!  I hope not!!  It’s happened to me very few times thankfully, but in this day and age, people are really horrible and kids go missing and just don’t come back.  So, unlike lots of the mums I know (no judgement!, just saying), I am generally quite paranoid when being out with my kids.  I constantly check up on my kids and make sure that I know where they are.

Ethan is quite an independent child, also older than Riley so I guess more grown up, and when we’re out, I don’t really need to worry about him.  Also, he knows and fully understands “stranger danger” and he knows my cellphone number so he knows to ask somebody to call me if he’s ever lost.  I’ve briefed him on what to do if anybody calls him to come to them, or tries to take him or wants to feed him etc.  I’ve done the same with Riley, but as he’s only 3 and a half, I don’t think he quite gets the seriousness of being taken by a stranger, so of course, I keep an extra eye on him if we’re out.

On Saturday, we went to Papachinos in Stoneridge.  For those of you who haven’t been, it’s A.MA.ZING!!  There’s even a cricket pitch and a little soccer field.  The area for the kids to play in is really great.  Lots of space and lots of things to climb up, under and through.  It’s every kid’s dream come true 🙂 🙂 🙂  Ethan and Riley have been there twice before so know the layout quite well.

So we had a party in the morning and Mr Ri played quite a bit with the birthday boy, but they stuck more to the smaller kids/indoor area which was pretty close to where we were, so I felt comfortable with the two of them together.  Also the hubster was there so he too was checking on him.  After the party, we stayed at the same venue where I met with a few ladies from Ethan’s old grade R class.  Riley had the option to go home with dad but totally refused (of course!).  I was comfortable with him staying and by this time, boy child was so familiar with the venue that he was running around entertaining himself all on his lonesome.

Anyhoo, I was sitting with one of the mothers chatting when I decided to do my patrolling of the area to check on Riley.  Long story short, I searched the area three times, yes, THREE TIMES!!!  I had Ethan looking, one of the managers and two of the waitresses.  I was honestly convinced that my child was gone despite the fact that my brain was shouting he couldn’t have left this place, he’s here somewhere.  I searched the whole restaurant, checked the bathrooms, the waiting rooms, everything.  By this stage Ethan had carried on on his merry way, totally oblivious to the fact that my legs were like jelly, my heart rate was racing ahead in total panic, and I was so flustered that I had to even remove my jacket.  I know, I know, what made me think that removing my jacket would improve the situation?!?!  Hahahaha.  Like when you’re trying to follow directions in the car and you automatically turn the radio down…for what!  I think that on the outside, I was still pretty composed, but the lady I was with could see the panic on my face, so she also got up and started looking.  All I was thinking was – HOW THE HELL AM I GOING TO TELL MY HUSBAND THAT I LOST THIS CHILD???!!!!

On round four of looking around, and now even starting to contemplate what my next move was going to be, my friend shouted over to me and when I turned around, there was little Riley walking hand in hand with her, not a care in the world.  I cannot explain the sheer relief.  I almost buckled to the floor and cried out loud.  My baby was okay!

Turns out that he was playing hide and seek with a friend and had managed to creep under the steering wheel of the big red bus.  I of course hadn’t seen him.

Thank God he was fine…but that stress of losing a child!  Phew.  I’m even having increased heart palpitations typing the story out now…

Needless to say, I made sure that I gave both my kiddy winkles extra squeezes yesterday morning when they climbed into bed to wish me a happy mother’s day, and I gave Riley some extra love, I was so certain I had lost him just the day before 😦

Anyway, all’s well that ends well 🙂  I hope that all you mums were spoilt rotten by your families xxx

 

7 responses »

  1. halberts2014 says:

    Gosh, such a scary situation. That’s why I’m glad I only have 1 kid, I don’t have enough eyes to keep on 2 🙂
    Glad you found him. Hope you had a stiff drink afterwards.
    I’ve told Liam to meet me at the entrance to the shop if he loses us. We haven’t lost him yet, thank goodness

    • Jodie says:

      I’m often out with just the two of them and I honestly hardly have any issues like them running off etc. Plus my kids come first, so even if I’m out with friends and I have to get up 100times to make myself feel at ease, I’ll do that. We usually got to a much smaller place though so it’s easier to keep my eyes on them.

      • halberts2014 says:

        I think most of us are paranoid about losing our kids. If you aren’t, then there is something seriously wrong. We even sit outside on the street while the kids play. Not nice actually, if you compare how our childhood was.
        LOL, Liam isn’t much of a runner, thank goodness, coz neither am I. I would like to see someone pick him up and run off with him though as he’s a bit hefty.

      • Jodie says:

        But I’ve honestly seen mums who aren’t even bothered. Like their kids are running around, even crying, and they’re just happily drinking their wine or chatting or whatever. It bothers me tremendously.

      • halberts2014 says:

        Yep, that it does. This is along the same lines as not returning things marked with some other kids name 😉

  2. MamaCat says:

    This is very scary. We have not had any drama like this yet (and I hope never to have it). I tell HB to tell a Mom with kids tat he is lost and that she should call us. We have taught him the phone number to call and he since all his clothes are labelled, I have told him to use his his clothes if he cannot remember a number.

    • Jodie says:

      I like the label on all clothes – that’s a very good idea! Only Ethan’s school clothes are labelled but with the labels that I ordered, you can add on a cellphone number as well. Good idea 🙂

Leave a comment